Como Launches New Sensory Friendly Program

Como Park Zoo & Conservatory

Como Park Zoo & Conservatory Launches New Sensory Friendly Program

Como Park Zoo and Conservatory is proud to present Autism Friendly Early Entry Days. These sensory friendly free opportunities allows individuals with autism and other sensory needs the ability to see and experience all the things the Como Zoo has to offer before the doors are open to the general public.

Como Zoo will open at 9am during the listed dates below for an inclusive experience for individuals on the autism spectrum and their families. Those attending will have the opportunity to spend time exploring exhibits, and participate in activities designed specifically for them from 9am-10am.

Como Park Zoo & Conservatory has on its website downloadable materials such as a “Visual Schedule” and a “Sensory Map” that will help plan the day before heading to Como Zoo for the Autism Friendly Early Entry Days. Working in collaboration with the Autism Society of Minnesota (AuSM), Como has also created a “Social Narrative” guide. This guide, also downloadable from Como’s website, helps visitors reduce their anxiety about new experiences by explaining what to expect step-by-step as they explore the Zoo and Conservatory.

Como Park Zoo and Conservatory is an energetic, colorful place full of sensory stimuli, and we know this environment can be overwhelming for some guests. We are proud to open our doors early to ensure that all of our guests can have a positive experience at Como.

 

Click HERE for the Visual Schedule

Click HERE for the Sensory Map

Click HERE for the Social Narrative Guide

 

2018 Dates:
9am-10am
Sun. Feb. 11
Sun March 11
Sun. April 8
Sun. May 13
Sun. June 10
Wed. June 13
Sun. July 8
Wed. July 11
Sun. July 22
Wed. July 25
Sun. Aug 5
Wed. Aug 8
Sun. Aug 19
Wed. Aug 22
Sun. Sept. 9
Sun. Oct. 14
Sun. Nov. 11
Sun. Dec. 9

Legacy

###

BACK